By Phillip D. Johnson
Building upon a heritage of a traveling in ease and sophisticated style, LOUIS VUITTON has revamped and remodeled their DAMIER SIGNATURE COLLECTION for the spring/summer 2013 season. The LOUIS VUITTON label was founded by Louis Vuitton in 1854 on Rue Neuve des Capucines in Paris, France. Louis Vuitton had observed that the HJ CAVE OSILITE trunk could be easily stacked and in 1858, Vuitton introduced his flat-bottom trunks with (with his then signature) Trianon canvas, making them lightweight and airtight. Before the introduction of Vuitton’s trunks, rounded-top trunks were used, generally to promote water run-off, and thus could not be stacked. It was Vuitton’s gray Trianon canvas flat trunk that allowed the ability to stack with ease for voyages. Many other luggagemakers imitated LV’s style and design. (Even then, back in the beginning, the brand was one of the most copied in the world!)
The DAMIER SIGNATURE CANVAS design was a creative spark between Louis Vuitton and his son,GEORGES VUITTON, who had come up with the idea altogether a year earlier in 1888. The new pattern alternating small brown and beige squares was created to distinguish the House from its competitors and featured for the first time, the words “L. Vuitton Marque Desposee” diagonally across of the squares. It quickly became the primary canvas until the introduction of the Monogram in 1896.
Vuitton celebrates DAMIER 125TH ANNIVERSARY with new additions to the MAISON’S DAMIER COLLECTION, adding the DAMIER INFINI in fluorescent hues supple embossed leather, DAMIER EBENE with a colored interior and water-resistant nylon DAMIER CHALLENGE. The collection goes through four different phases, from sleek, ultra-chic black business briefcases to more casual sports-influenced backpacks and sidebags. Regardless of the event, Louis Vuitton has once again provide a line of dependable, timeless, and foolproof accessories that will blend seamlessly into your wardrobe.